Fiction Critique, Rennes

Collection. Un rêve d’éternité
Frac Bretagne, Rennes, FR
Dec 12, 2014–Apr 26, 2015

Victor Burgin, Jocelyn Cottencin, Bruno Di Rosa, Tatjana Doll, & IL TOPO, Robert Filliou, Hreinn Fridfinnsson, Rebecca Horn, Julije Knifer, Bertrand Lavier, Lucas L’Hermitte, Helen Mirra, Gabriel Orozco, Michel Parmentier, Anne et Patrick Poirier, Étienne Pressager, André Raffray, Sarkis, Sturtevant, Rémy Zaugg.

Fiction Critique is an artwork by & IL TOPO produced by FRAC Bretagne (2014) which refers exclusively to the exhibition Collection. Un rêve d’éternité.

The Topist idea of Fiction Critique puts the accent on the first part of the term: FICTION. It ranges from poetic blindness to deliberate satirical falsehood, in an attempt to disorient and distort the experience of the visitor to the exhibition, or the observer of the images the exhibition contains.

While making use of valid historical research, ficTOPOcritique makes no effort whatsoever to provide the public with necessarily reliable documentation or insightful commentary. It enhances or compromises the experience of the artworks of others through a disarmingly dishonest and parasitical approach.

Each selected work from the exhibition/collection is “explained” and narrated by one person, through complete invention and fantasy, and always from a Topist perspective. The “ficto-critics” can be artists, writers, philosophers, scientists, historians, celebrities, as long as they are involved in or associated with the TOPISM movement.

Materials: sound files for personal devices (smartphones, mp3 players, tablets) and illustrated or simply printed texts.
Each “fiction-critic” can use music, sounds, noises, stories, diagrams, hypnotic suggestion or any other technique that can survive encoding in audio files or on the printed page.

& IL TOPO movement is: Armando della Vittoria, Mattia Barbieri, Iain Baxter&, Marco Bazzini, Caspar is Caspar, Rugiada Cadoni, Guillaume Clermont, Gabriele Di Matteo, Francesco Fossati, Stefania Galegati Shines, Piero Gatto, Martín Giménez ex Larralde, Debora Hirsch, David Liver, Fréderic Liver, Francesco Locatelli, Monica Mazzone, Pietro Montone, Giancarlo Norese, Steve Piccolo, Fabien Pinaroli, Luca Pozzi, Gak Sato, Franco Silvestro, Aldo Spoldi, vedovamazzei.